Ads Right Header

Increasing pollution in 13 cities of AP

VISAKHAPATNAM: The Union Minister of State in the ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change Babul Supriyo informed the parliament that 13 cities in AP were included in the list of non-attainment cities in the central government’s national clean air programme (NCAP), which is a long term, time-bound, national level strategy to tackle the air pollution problem across the nation in a comprehensive manner with targets to achieve 20% to 30% reduction in particulate matter concentrations by 2024. The government has identified 122 non-attainment cities across the country under this NCAP based on the Air Quality date from 2014 to 2018.
The minister said that Visakhapatnam, Vizianagaram, Srikakulam, Rajahmundry, Eluru, Vijayawada, Guntur, Nellore, Ongole, Chittoor, Kadapa, Kurnool and Anantapur of AP were identified and listed.
He said that several studies were conducted to identify major air pollution sources and their contributions to ambient air pollution levels in the country. The major source of air pollution inter-alia includes road dust suspension, vehicular emissions, biomass or garbage burning, construction and demolition activities, industrial emissions and others.
The city specific action plans were prepared in which inter-alia include measures for strengthening the monitoring network, reducing emissions. Implementation of the city specific action plans are regularly monitored by committees at central and state level. He said Covid 19 related lockdown has resulted in temporary improvement of air quality in many cities due to closure of industries, reduction in number of vehicles plying and lack of construction activities, and others.

Let's block ads! (Why?)

Previous article
Next article

Leave Comments

Post a Comment

Ads Post 4