Mixed results for TDP in MLC elections

Hyderabad: It was a day of mixed results for the TDP. While the ruling party had won the first teachers’ constituency MLC seat in Krishne-Guntur teachers constituency in the first preference vote, it suffered a major setback in the East-West Godavari teachers constituency as it lost to the Left parties. Godavari districts stood firmly behind the TDP in the 2014 general elections.TDP candidate from the Guntur teachers’ constituency A S Ramakrishna won in the First Preference vote counting in the Krishna- Guntur constituency. He was ahead of his nearest rival K S Lakshman Rao, backed by the United Teachers Federation (UTF).

In the counting of votes for the East and West Godavari teachers’ constituency, the UTF candidate Ramu Surya Rao won over the TDP candidate. The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) fielded sitting MLC and Government Whip KVV Satyanarayana Raju while the party’s rebel candidate Paruchuri Krishna Rao too was in the poll fray. Of the 21,551 voters in both the Godavari districts, 17,487 teachers exercised their franchise during the election that was held on Sunday.

Both Raju and Rao are owners of corporate educational institutions. Though there are 15 candidates in the poll arena, the contest is expected to be among the three candidates – Surya Rao, Raju and Krishna Rao in the East and West Godavari teachers’ constituency. Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu expressed his dissatisfaction over the defeat of the party candidate at the TDLP meeting. He felt that the party leaders did not work hard enough to ensure the victory of the party candidate.

View the original article here