10 get appreciation for bravery on I-Day in VIT-AP

Vijayawada: On the occasion of 73rd Independence Day, JSV Prasad, Special Chief Secretary, department of Higher Education, Government of Andhra Pradesh unfurled the national flag and felicitated three fire service men, three police constables and an NGO with mementos and rewarded for discharging their duties with utmost responsibility.

He presented them with certificates of appreciation for their yeoman service and serving as inspirational role models to the young. Three deceased RTC drivers were also awarded on the occasion. VIT-AP University organised the programme.

The three firemen are M N Satyanarayana of Tuni fire station, Ch Sri Ramulu Reddy of Rajamahendravaram and B Syam Prasad of Kakinada. Bereaved family members of the three APSRTC drivers were given the mementoes and rewards.

Late D Subramanya Raju, driver in Puttur depot suffered a severe heart attack while on duty. Late P Immanuel, driver, Podili depot on his duty suffered a severe heart attack and late S Narayanappa of Kuppam depot on his duty suffered a severe heart attack. All the three unmindful of their own lives and failing condition managed to save the lives of passengers by parking the buses safely.

The three APSP-SDRF are Anke Srinivasa Rao of 9th Bn., APSP, Venkatagiri, Madala Venkata Rao of 9th Bn., APSP, Venkatagiri and Sonagiri Sateesh Kumar of 9th Bn., APSP, Venkatagiri for act of bravery in saving lives.

Uma Mahendra Raj, a social worker and counsellor of Green Valley Foundation of Visakhapatnam believes that helping a drug abuser recover is equal to saving few generations.

Let's block ads! (Why?)