ECoR introduces summer specials

Bhubaneswar: In an effort to clear rush of passengers this summer, the East Coast Railway (ECoR) has introduced a summer special train between Santragachhi and Chennai, Central – Santragachhi (Howrah/Kolkata)-Chennai Central Special, ECoR sources said Tuesday.

Santragachhi-Chennai Central-Santragachhi Summer Special (02841/02842) from Santragachhi will leave at 12.40pm Fridays between April 12 and June 28, while its pairing train will leave Chennai Central at 6.20pm Saturday between April 13 and June 29, the source said.

“The Santragachhi (Howrah/Kolkata)-Chennai Central Special train has four AC-2 tier, five AC-3 tier, four sleeper class and two guard-cum-luggage vans in its composition having stoppages at Kharagpur, Bhadrak, Jajpur-Keonjhar Road, Bhubaneswar, Khurda Road, Berhampur, Vizianagaram, Duvvada, Rajahmundry, Vijayawada, Nellore and Gudur between Santragachhi and Chennai Central,” a senior ECoR official pointed out.

“Important regular trains have been planned to be augmented with additional coaches during the period by creating additional berths,” the official said.

Earlier, the ECoR has announced 15 summer special trains like Bhubaneswar-Secunderabad-Bhubaneswar AC Summer Special, Shalimar-Puri-Shalimar Special, Kacheguda-Visakhapatnam-Kacheguda Special, Hyderabad-Srikakulam Special, Puri-Santragachhi (Howrah)-Puri Special, Puri-Habibganj-Puri Special, Sambalpur-Shalimar-Sambalpur Special, Raigarh-Sambalpur-Raigarh Special, Sambalpur-Banaswadi-Sambalpur Special, Puduchery-Santragachhi-Puduchery Special, Chennai-Santragachhi-Chennai Special, Kacheguda-Tata-Kacheguda Special, Visakhapatnam-Secunderabad-Visakhapatnam Special, Visakhapatnam-Tirupati-Visakhapatnam Special and Visakhapatnam-Kacheguda/Tirupati Special.

Modernisation work in Jeypore-Jagadalpur railway section

Following safety-related modernisation work at three stations – Charumala Kusum, Kotpad Road and Ambagaon stations – in Jeypore-Jagadalpur railway section under Waltair Division of ECoR, Hirakhand Express from Bhubaneswar and Rourkela-Jagadalpur will run up to Jeypore and will be partially cancelled up to April 22, an ECoR official said.

Bhubaneswar-Jagadalpur-Bhubaneswar Hirakhand Express (18447/18448) and Rourkela-Jagadalpur-Rourkela Express (18107/18108) will run up to Jeypore from April 15 and April 21 respectively. In return, both the trains will originate from Jeypore instead of Jagadalpur between April 16 and 22.

Services of both the trains will remain cancelled between Jeypore and Jagadalpur from both the directions between April 16 and 22, the official added.

Let's block ads! (Why?)