TDP Firm on Action Against 9 YSRC MLAs

HYDERABAD: Even as the YSRC reportedly expressed its willingness for a compromise formula over cracking the whip on nine of its MLAs for making improper comments against Speaker Kodela Siva Prasada Rao, the ruling TDP is still considering the option of initiating strong disciplinary action against the YSRC members.

Sources said chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu is firm on suspending these nine members from the House at least for a period of six months to one year.

During the TDLP meeting held here on Wednesday chaired by Naidu, labour minister K Atchannaidu reportedly told the chief minister that the YSRC members were sending proposals that they would withdraw the no-trust motion against the Speaker in lieu of sparing their party’s nine MLAs from disciplinary action.

But, according to sources, Naidu rejected this proposal and told his partymen that the government should initiate action against the YSRC members for making derogatory remarks against the Speaker. Earlier in the day, TDP member Vangalapudi Anitha moved a privilege motion against the nine YSRC members ‘for showing disrespect towards the Speaker and using derogatory language against him”.

Privilege notice was served against Gadikota Srikanth Reddy, Chevireddy Bhaskar Reddy, Kodali Sri Venkateswara Rao alias Nani, Anil Kumar Yadav, K Sridhar Reddy, R Siva Prasad Reddy, Pinneli Rama Krishna Reddy, B Muthyala Naidu and RK Roja. Protesting against the move YSRC members trooped into the well and demanded that the Speaker allow their leader YS Jagan Mohan Reddy to speak. Initially, the Speaker refused but later allowed Jagan to speak.

View the original article here