Krishna -Guntur Teacher MLC seat goes to TDP

TDP bags the first teachers’ constituency MLC post after bifurcation of the state. Telugu Desam Party supported candidate A.S. Ramakrishna who was leading by 1,950 First Preference votes in the counting for Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council Teachers' Krishna- Guntur Constituencies on Wednesday established majority.

He was ahead of his nearest rival K.S. Lakshman Rao, backed by United Teachers Federation (UTF) and bagged 6980 voters out of the total of 13, 047 votes as against the rival PDF candidate getting over 500 votes.
In the counting of votes for East and West Godavari Teachers’ Constituency the UTF candidate Ramu Surya Rao was leading in the first round of counting. The counting commenced at Rangaraya Medical College at Kakinada on Wednesday.
The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) fielded sitting MLC and Government Whip K.V.V. Satyanarayana Raju by giving him the Form B, while the party’s rebel candidate Paruchuri Krishna Rao too was in the poll fray. Of the 21,551 teacher voters in both the Godavari districts, 17,487 teachers exercised their franchise during the election that was held on Sunday.
Both Raju and Rao are owners of corporate educational institutions. Though there are 15 candidates in the poll arena, the contest is expected to be among the three candidates – Surya Rao, Raju and Krishna Rao in the East and West Godavari Teachers’ Constituency.

View the original article here